Home Sports NFF, Lagos State Set New Marks for Federation Cup

NFF, Lagos State Set New Marks for Federation Cup


The Main Organising Committee of the 2014 Men and Women Federation Cup grand finale has insisted on global best practices for every facet of the organization of the event, on Sunday, 23rd November, 2014.

At a meeting held inside the Conference Room of the NFF Secretariat, Abuja on Tuesday, NFF’s 1st Vice President Seyi Akinwunmi declared that the entire organizational experience would now reflect the new vision of the new NFF Executive Committee of doing things differently, positively.

“Over the years, the grand finale has been organized with the best of intentions on the sides of Lagos State and NFF, but we are saying that we should do even better in line with the vision of the new NFF.

“Excellence should be the watchword as we look forward to a more glamorous Federation Cup grand finale delivered in line with global best practice,” Akinwunmi said.

Present at the meeting were NFF’s Director of Competitions, Dr. Mohammed Sanusi, Director of Marketing, Mr. Adama Idris, Assistant Director of Communications, Mr. Ademola Olajire, Special Assistant to NFF President, Mr. Tunde Aderibigbe, Special Assistant to Lagos State Commissioner for Sports, Mrs Oluyomi Oluwasanmi, Head of Marketing Alizor Chuks, Special Assistant to NFF General Secretary, Dr. Christian Emeruwa and Head of Federation Cup, Ruth David.

This year’s Federation Cup grand finale will see two-time African champions Enyimba FC of Aba locking horns with Dolphins FC of Port Harcourt in the men’s event, while Rivers Angels FC of Port Harcourt take on Sunshine Queens of Akure in the women’s final.

The women’s final will start at 12 noon, with the showpiece men’s final kicking off at 3pm. The Executive Governor of Lagos State, Mr. Babatunde Raji Fashola, will be the chief host. The Governors of participating Rivers, Abia and Ondo States are also expected.

Already, a team from Lagos State Football Association has been doing a round of media houses in Lagos creating awareness about the big day.

This year, 13 former stars of the Cup, which at various times used to be known as Governor’s Cup, FA Cup and Challenge Cup, will be honoured by the Lagos State Government. Four of them will be honoured posthumously, namely veteran journalist Ayo Ositelu, one-time Chairman of then NFA, Sunday Dankaro, former star striker Ogidi Ibeabuchi and former Green Eagles’ midfielder Aloysius Atuegbu – all of blessed memory.

Those who will be physically present are Herbert Omokhaye, a one-time Secretary General of then NFA, former players George Alhassan, Yomi Peters, Peter Fregene, Kadiri Ikhana, Henry Ogboe, Peter ‘Baby’ Anieke and Jonathan Nwaiwu, and former referee Festus Okubule.



Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here