Home News Obanikoro Yet to Formally Join APC, Says Ajomale

Obanikoro Yet to Formally Join APC, Says Ajomale


The Chairman of the All Progressives Congress in Lagos State, Chief Henry Ajomale, has cleared the air over the status of former Minister of State for Defence, Senator Musiliu Obanikoro with respect to the party.

Obanikoro, a Peoples Democratic Party chieftain, had worked closely with former President Goodluck Jonathan after he left the Action Congress of Nigeria for PDP.

But he recently retraced his steps and came to apologise to and be reunited with former Lagos governor and APC National Leader, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu.

That move was interpreted to mean he had joined APC.

But speaking on Tuesday at the 22nd Town Hall Meeting of the Senator representing Lagos Central, Senator Oluremi Tinubu, with her constituents, Ajomale said though Obanikoro had been reconciled with Tinubu, he was yet to formally join the party.

“Obanikoro is yet to be received by the APC because I have not given him the party flag. Only Chief Luqman Ajose has fully returned to APC. Ajose openly declared for APC and was received at ACMe Road and given our party flag.

Also speaking at the weekend, the Lagos Central APC Leader, Chief Tajudeen Olusi, said he warned both Obanikoro and Ajose not to leave the party for PDP when they did.

“I advised them against it when they came to tell me. But they have come again to say they have returned. And I’m glad that I’m still alive when they return”.

Olusi used the occasion to sue for unity in APC particularly in the light of the just concluded Local Government primaries of the party fraught with complaints.

He said they were free to register their complaints but urged them to know that only God put people in positions.

Senator Tinubu presented a comprehensive account of all the Senate and she had done in the Senate and for her constituency in the last three months.

The City Hall, Lagos island venue of the meeting was filled to the brim during the Town Hall Meeting.

Among those in attendance were Commissioner for Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs in the state, Muslimu Folami, APC State Secretary, Hon. Akeem Bangbola, former Lagos State Deputy Governor Femi Pedro, Senator Muse, former Commissioner, Mr. Olawale Edun, Hon. Oyin Danmole, Hon. Alawiye King, Chief. G. O Adenekan, Chief Mutiu Aare, Chief Bashir Dare, Chief (Mrs) Abah Folawiyo and Chief (Mrs) Onileere.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here