Home Entertainment Ogun Assembly Speaker Receives Oodua Speaker of the Year Award

Ogun Assembly Speaker Receives Oodua Speaker of the Year Award


By: Kolawole Olayinka, Abeokuta

The Speaker of the Ogun State House of Assembly has been awarded as (“Akoni Akin Okunrin) the Oodua Speaker of the year, 2017 by Yoruba Reedemption Foundation (YUREF).

In recognition of his monumental achievements recorded under his leadership which have led to the socio-economic development being witnessed in the State.

Presenting the award, the Chairman, Board of Trustee, Yoruba Redemption Foundation (YOREF), was held on thuraday at the house of assembly complex.

Chief Peter Fatomilola lauded the Assembly for giving necessary support to the Senator Amosun’s government through effective legislation, explaining that the award category was for outstanding Assembly Speaker among Speakers of the Houses of the Assembly across the nation upon which Speaker Adekunbi stood out for his sterling qualities and leadership style.

He said the foundation does nt giving award of honoured to people any how, but the award giving the speaker of ogun state was based on merit.

Commenting, Members including the Deputy Speaker Olakunle Oluomo, Honourables Oludare Kadiri and Yetunde Adekanbi –Sogbein applauded the foundation for its observation of good and credible governance in the State, with a promise that the Assembly on its part would to continue to be an active partner in the promotion of good governance and sustenance of democratic ideals.

Responding, the Speaker appreciated the foundation, Chartered Institute of Commerce of Nigeria and Youth Assembly of Nigeria for the honour and applauded his colleague-lawmakers for their support and understanding, stressing that such would spur the House of Assembly to continue discharge its responsibility to advance more development to the State.

According to him, the recognition was a manifestation of the achievements recorded by the State legislature for the enactment of people-oriented legislations which were in line with the needs and aspirations of the people.

Noting that the success recorded by the Senator Ibikunle Amosun led- government was as a result of the mutual inter -dependence among all arms of government in the State.

People in attendance include representative of HRM Oba Abdul Azeez Ishola Adelakun, Alaye of Ayetoro, chief Peter Fatomilola, chairman board of trustee; Asiwaju Temidayo Ayodele, Dr Abiodun Ogunwale, chief Adebayo Falase, Madam Bagbansoro, chief Afolabi Olaleye, prince Bolaji Aretola, chief Olateju and chief Kola Onifade and others.


Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here