Home News Ogun Assembly Tasks Commissioner Nominees On Development Initiatives

Ogun Assembly Tasks Commissioner Nominees On Development Initiatives


By Kolawole Olayinka, Abeokuta

The Ogun State House of Assembly on Monday screened 17 out of the 18 commissioner nominees, whose names were transmitted to the legislative arm by Governor Dapo Abiodun for screening, ratification and approval.

They are expected to bring their wealth of experience in their various endeavours to bear in transforming the socio-economic status of the State for better if confirmed and appointed by the Governor.

The Speaker, Rt Hon. Olakunle Oluomo, who threw the challenge while leading the Committee of the Whole House to screen the nominees at the Assembly Complex, Oke-Mosan Abeokuta, also encouraged them to establish a symbiotic relationship with the legislative arm.

According to him, it would ensure qualitative service delivery to the populace when confirmed.

The Speaker alongside his colleague-lawmakers further called on the Governor to consider more youth, women and people with special needs in subsequent set of appointments in the State, while acknowledging that though the Governor had in the previous appointments of Special Advisers and Consultants given adequate representation to women but there was need to do more.

Scrutinizing the curriculum vitaes and other credentials of the nominees, the lawmakers stressed the need for the nominees to ensure that they apply the right skills and attitude in the Ministry they are allotted when confirmed and appointed to contribute their quota towards the overall development of the State.

The lawmakers noted that their nominations came with higher responsibilities and expectations, stressing the need for the nominees to ensure transparency, accountability and all-inclusiveness in all their engagements as already established by Governor Dapo Abiodun to stimulate change of mindset, the infusion of innovation and creativity in governance.

Those who were screened include Honourables Ganiyu Hamzat and Abiodun Abudu – Balogun, Mr. Dapo AbdulRahman Okubadejo, Funmi Efuwape, Oluwafemi Ogunbanwo, Dr. Tosin Taiwo, Prof. Sidi Osho, Barr. Gbolahan Adeniran, Engr. Oludotun Taiwo, Jagunmolu Jamiu Akande Omoniyi.

Others are Olaolu Olabimtan, Morufu Afolabi Afuape, Dr. Kehinde Oluwadare, Adebowale Akinsanya, Olatunji Akinosi, Dr. Adeola Odedina and Tunji Odunlami.



Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here