Home My Town & I Ogun Eighth Assembly Winds Down, Passed 67 Bills, Secures Autonomy  

Ogun Eighth Assembly Winds Down, Passed 67 Bills, Secures Autonomy  


By Kolawole Olayinka, Abeokuta

The Speaker of the Ogun State House of Assembly, Rt Hon.Suraju Ishola Adekunbi says the 7th and 8th Legislative sessions he led for eight year passed a total of sixty-seven bills and numerous resolutions.

Adekunbi, who disclosed this at the valedictory session of the 8th Assembly held at the Assembly Complex, Oke-Mosan, Abeokuta, added that the Assembly had equally achieved financial autonomy for the legislature.

He equally noted the Assembly had always ensured the speedy passage of appropriation bills days  before the commencement of  any financial year with due diligence.

The Speaker lauded his colleague-lawmakers for their support at creating enabling environment for socio-economic advancement  and investment opportunities inspite of political differences, stating  that the Assembly emerged the most prolific and resourceful Assembly in the country through core legislative business and the delivery of democratic dividends to their respective constituents.

Recalling that in June 2011, when he took the mantle of leadership, he inherited a legislative arm that was in crisis as it was polarised, thus he  immediately swung into action by restoring peace and sanity to the State Assembly having united all lawmakers towards engendering productivity in lawmaking and the overall development of the State.

The Speaker attributed his uninterrupted leadership and record setting attainment as the Speaker in both seventh and eighth legislative sessions to the support of Almighty Allah, the sacrifice, support and understanding of his colleague-lawmakers, who gave him the opportunity to lead in the service to the gateway State.

Assuring of his advice and service to the incoming 9th legislature, Adekunbi tasked them to strive hard to surpass the record of the outgone 8th Legislature’s by making the electorate have value for their votes and painstaking sacrifices.

He advised them to sustain the existing tempo of legislative vibrancy and mutual interdependence among the three arms of government, urging the incoming lawmakers to be a partner in progress by resisting every attempt to bring them on a collision course with other arms of government.

Earlier, members including Honourables the Deputy Speaker Oakunle Oluomo, Majority Leader Olusola Sonuga, Yetunde Sogbein-Adekanbi, Oyenuga Olufowobi, Adebowale Ojuri, Akinpelu Aina, Victor Fasanya, Adebiyi Adeleye and Jimi Otukoya  thanked God for the opportunity to represent their constituents, Speaker Adekunbi for his charismatic leadership and inclusiveness, wisdom and foresight as well as the unity among their colleagues and the dedication of the entire workers of the Assembly.

Others including Adebowale Solaja, Harrison Adeyemi, Israel Jolaoso, Olayiwola Ojodu, Folakemi Akintayo, Viwanu Ojo, Oludare Kadiri, Ganiyu Oyedeji, Jemili Akingbade, Akanbi Bankole, Olawale Alausa, said their experience in the last four years was worthwhile and together they have contributed their quota to the progress and development of the State.

The valedictory session was attended by a former Speaker of the 3rd Legislature, Bashorun Muyiwa Oladipo, members-elect of the 9th Legislature amongst other dignitaries.


Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here