Home Living Ogun Govt Approves Additional 79 Private Nursery Schools, 69, Pry Schools 

Ogun Govt Approves Additional 79 Private Nursery Schools, 69, Pry Schools 


By Kolawole Olayinka, Abeokuta

As part of resolve to ensure the success of its education policy in Ogun State, the State Ministry of Education has granted approval to additional seventy-nine (79) private nursery schools and upgrading approval for 69 private primary schools across the State.

The Permanent Secretary in the Ministry, Alhaji Sefiu Rasheed disclosed this while outlining the achievements of the Ministry at the ongoing 2019 budget performance evaluation before members of the State House of Assembly Finance and Appropriation Committee led by Hon. Victor Fasanya at the Assembly Complex, Oke-Mosan, Abeokuta.

Rasheed added that Ministry in the period under review issued approval to fifty-eight (58) private junior secondary schools and upgraded that of eight private senior secondary schools and had successfully ensured the smooth operation of insurance scheme for the schools.

The Permanent Secretary noted that a total of 28 community based secondary schools were being absorbed  by the State. He listed the schools to include Ikangba Comprehensive High School, Alagbe Model school, Community High School, Awotunde,  Muslim Community Grammar School, Oja Odan, Olambe Community High School, Ifo, Obada Grammar School, Igbokofi Community High School and Community High School, Olooji amongst others.

In similar vein, the Chairman, State Teaching Service Commission (TESCOM), Chief (Mrs) Olabosipo Ogunsan,  represented by the Director of Information, Mr Kehinde Onasanya, said the agency had in the last three months,  paid a total of N3.56b as salaries to all teaching and non -teaching staff under the Commission.

In another development, the Assembly has directed the State Ministry of Education, Science and Technology, the Management of Tai-Solarin College of Education (TASCE) Omu-Ijebu and members of labour unions in the institution to appear before it on Tuesday, 16th of April, 2019 at 9:00 am.

The invitation according to the Chairman of the House of Assembly Committee on Finance and Appropriation became imperative so as to find a lasting solution to issues affecting the smooth operation of academic activities at the institution with a view to returning normal academic activities to the College.

Other agencies that had their budgets performance appraised before the lawmakers included the State Human Capital Development, Bureau of Tertiary Institutions, State Library Board, State Technical and Vocational Education Board.

Others including Abraham Adesanya Polytechnic, Ijebu-Igbo, Moshood Abiola Polytechnic, Abeokuta, Ogun State Polytechnic, Ipokia, Gateway (ICT) Polytechnic, Saapade, State College of Health Technology,  Ilese-Ijebu, Tai Solarin University of Education (TASUED), Ijagun, as well as Gateway Industrial and Petro-Gas Institute, Oni also  defended their budget performance before the lawmakers.

Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here