Home News Okorocha Wins Re-election in Imo, Ikpeazu Beats Otti in Abia

Okorocha Wins Re-election in Imo, Ikpeazu Beats Otti in Abia


By Ibidapo Balogun

Governor Rochas Okorocha of Imo State has won re-election and will spend another four years as governor of the state.

Okorocha, who contested on the platform of the All Progressives Congress, beat the Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives, Hon. Emeka Ihedioha, of the Peoples Democratic Party.

Okorocha polled 416,996 votes, while Ihedioha secured 320,705 votes.

Also, the PDP governorship candidate in Abia State, Dr. Okezie Ikpeazu, won by beating Dr. Alex Otti of the All Progressives Grand Alliance with 264,713 votes to 180,882 votes.

In Taraba, PDP’s Darius Ishaku, the former Minister of State for Niger Delta, was ahead of Senator Aisha Alhassan of the APC going by the results available at press time.

The supplementary elections were held in the three states because last April 11 election were inconclusive.

For instance, in the April 11 poll in Abia, Ikpeazu had polled 248, 459 votes, ahead of Otti, who scored 165,406 votes out of the 439,454 total vote cast.

INEC’s Returning Officer, Prof. Benjamin Ozumba, had declared the election inconclusive on the grounds that the 83,053 margin of lead was lower than the 175,532 total numbers of registered voters in the polling units where election did not hold or which results were cancelled.

In Kofar Sarki in Takum Local Government Area polling unit, the PDP had 588 votes against the APC’s seven.

At Suntai Daaji in Donga Local Government Area, the PDP got 1,139 against APC’s 74. At Asibiti ward in Donga Local Government Area PDP scored 4,412 while APC had 604.

The election, which took place in no fewer than seven states only had governorship seats contested in the three states of Imo, Abia and Taraba, while other states like Kogi, Ekiti, Delta, Akwa Ibom, Cross River, Ebonyi, Gombe and Niger held elections for inconclusive seats in the state Houses of Assembly and the National Assembly.

Saturday’s supplementary elections were marred by voter apathy as most of the polling units in the affected states recorded low turnout of voters.

In Imo State, voters at most of the areas designated for the election were scanty, as residents shunned the restriction of movement order by the Police.

There were vehicular movements, while some shops opened for business.

It was a similar situation in Irete and Orogwe Wards, where youths were engaged in sporting activities. Low turnout of voters was also recorded during the supplementary election in Ilejemeje Constituency in Ilejemeje Local Government Area of Ekiti State.

The Independent National Electoral Commission had declared the election in the LGA inconclusive on April 11 after the cancellation of results from 22 units due to violence.

Cecelia Dada of PDP and the incumbent, Segun Erinle of APC, were the front runners in the election.

The state Police Commissioner, Joshua Ibine, had deployed large contingent of policemen to the 22 units in Eda Oniyo, Iludun and Iye Ekiti, where the election took place.

There was also deployment of soldiers and officers of the Department of State Service in the LGA. It was a similar situation in Abia State where low voter turn-out was witnessed during the supplementary election.

The rerun was held in 299 polling units scattered across nine LGAs in the state, with a total of 175,537 voting population.


Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here