Home News Ondo 2020: Aggrieved Politicians in APC, PDP May Move with Ajayi to...

Ondo 2020: Aggrieved Politicians in APC, PDP May Move with Ajayi to ZLP


By Temitope Adedeji, Akure

All is now set for the Ondo State Deputy Governor, Agboola Ajayi’s defection to the Zenith Labour Party (ZLP) on Thursday.

The Deputy Governor will be openly declaring for the gubernatorial race on the platform of the party in the October 10 election in the state.

However, some aggrieved members of the opposition parties, All Progressives Congress (APC) and Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), according to sources, may be joining the Deputy Governor in the new party.

The planned defection of the political bigwigs from major political parties in the state to the ZLP was a sequel to the resignation of the Deputy Governor from PDP.

Sources revealed that notable politicians like the immediate-past governor, Dr. Olusegun Mimiko, his estranged Deputy Governor and APC Board of Trustees (BoT) member, Alhaji Ali Olanusi, have resolved to support the Deputy Governor.

Former commissioners and prominent politicians including Niran Sule, Dare Emiola, Gboye Adegbenro, Sola Amodeni and Abdulsalam Taofiq are among the notable politicians in the state that may join the deputy governor in ZLP.

WESTERN POST reliably gathered that a majority of PDP members and leaders from the South Senatorial District, the strongest base of the party in the state, may likely support Ajayi.

Recall that the National Executive Council of the ZLP had on Sunday cleared the deputy governor to contest under the platform of the party.

Former governor Mimiko is the leader of ZLP in the state.


Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here