Home Health Osinbajo Approves Appointment of 14 Heads of Tertiary Health Institutions

Osinbajo Approves Appointment of 14 Heads of Tertiary Health Institutions


Acting President Yemi Osinbajo, has approved the appointment of 14 Chief Medical Directors and Medical Directors in Federal Teaching Hospitals, Federal Medical Centres and Specialty Hospitals in Nigeria.

This was disclosed in an approval letter signed by the Deputy Chief of Staff to the Acting President and addressed to the Minister of Health, Isaac Adewole.

According to a press statement by the ministry, the appointments take immediate effect for a four-year tenure and are in two categories.

The appointees are Appointees, Prof. Bisala Ekele (University of Abuja Teaching Hospital, Gwagwalada), Dr V.A. Osiatuma (Federal Medical Centre, Asaba), Prof Idris Suleiman (Federal Medical Centre, Birnin Kudu), Prof Abdus Musa (Federal Medical Centre, Abeokuta).

Dr O.O. Alabi (Federal Medical Centre, Lokoja), Dr Adejuwon Dada (Federal Medical Centre, Ebute-Metta, Lagos), Ibrahim Wakawa (Federal Neuropsychiatric Hospital, Maiduguri), Dr O.C. Ogun (Federal Neuropsychiatric Hospital, Lagos), Dr Shehu Sale (Federal Neuropsychiatric Hospital, Sokoto)

Second-term appointees; Prof A.Z. Mohammed (Aminu Kano Teaching Hospital), Prof. Anthony Igwegbe (Nnamdi Azikiwe University Teaching Hospital, Nnewi), Dr Wiza Inusa (Federal Medical Centre, Jalingo).

Dr Joseph B. Okegbe (Federal Medical Centre, Calabar), Dr Sunday Olotu (Federal Neuropsychiatric Hospital, Uselu, Benin-City).

In his congratulatory message on Twitter, the health minister said, “Congratulations! To new folks, hit the ground running and those returned, justify our confidence. Put people first, be transparent and accountable.


Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here