Home The Politico Osun Election: Tribunal Admits Form EC8A

Osun Election: Tribunal Admits Form EC8A


By Tunde Oyekola

The Osun governorship election petition tribunal sitting in Osogbo has admitted in evidence the Certified True Copies CTC of EC8A, as announced by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) tendered by the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and its candidate Senator Iyiola Omisore in contending the outcome of the election.

Senator Omisore is challenging the victory of Governor Rauf Aregbesola at the poll in 17 local governments out of the 30 local government areas of the state.

Also joined as respondents in the petition were the All Progressives Congress (APC) and INEC.

The local governments in contention are Osogbo, Olorunda, Ede North, Ede South, Ejigbo, Ifelodun, Ilesa East, Ilesa West, Irewole, Iwo, Obokun, Irepodun, Atakumosa East, Ayedaade, Boripe, Ola-Oluwa and Oriade.

Counsel to the petitioner, Dr Alex Izinyon (SAN) while presenting the Certified True Copies of form EC8A ‎in all the 17 local government areas in contention to the panel says they are contending the results from the said Local government areas.

Meanwhile counsel to Governor Rauf Aregbesola, who is the first respondent in the petition, Chief Akin Olujinmi (SAN) objected to all the documents tendered by the petitioner‎, reserving his objections till the final addresses.

APC counsel, Mr Kemi Pinheiro (SAN) and INEC counsel, Mr Ayodele Ogunleye also aligned with the submission of the first respondent who reserved all his objections till the final addresses.

The legal team of the petitioners and the respondents have earlier verified the documents, used in the 17 local governments being challenged by the petitioners and agreed that they should be tendered from the bar.


Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here