Home News State By State #OsunDecides2018: INEC Declares Oyetola Winner of Osun Governorship Election

#OsunDecides2018: INEC Declares Oyetola Winner of Osun Governorship Election


The candidate of the All Progressives Congress in the Osun State governorship election, Gboyega Oyetola, has been declared the winner of the poll by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

Gboyega Oyetola

INEC’s Returning Officer, Prof. Joseph Fuwape, who declared Oyetola winner of the election after the collation of the results of the supplementary election in seven polling units, at the head office of the commission in Osogbo, the Osun state capital, said he had met all conditions required to be returned as governor-elect for the state.

Fuwape said Oyetola polled 255,505 votes to defeat Ademola Adeleke of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) who had 255,023 votes.

Adeleke was leading by a margin of 353 votes in the election which held on Saturday but INEC declared the exercise inconclusive, saying the requirements for a winner to be declared were not met.

The Commission subsequently fixed a rerun for Thursday. The rerun held across seven polling units in four local government areas.

According to the results announced by the electoral umpire at the collation centre in Osogbo, the Osun state capital, the APC polled 1,160 votes in the rerun while PDP secured with 353 votes, leaving a margin of 835.

However, a combination of Saturday’s exercise and the rerun puts the ruling APC ahead with 255,505 votes while the opposition PDP had 255,023 votes, thereby making Oyetola the winner of the governorship election.

Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here