Home News Oyo Assembly Approves Establishment of Four More Ministries

Oyo Assembly Approves Establishment of Four More Ministries


By Richard Thomas Ibadan

The Oyo State House of Assembly has approved the establishment of four more Ministries to further enhance the activities of the Oyo Stare Government .

The approval followed the passing of four bills establishing the ministries at the Wednesday plenary of the house presided over by the Speaker, Hon Adebo Ogundoyin.

The four ministries are Ministry of Lands, Housing and Urban Development, Ministry of Environment and Natural Resources, Ministry of Information and Mass Mobilization and Ministry of Special Duties.

This brought to twelve the total number of new Ministries established by the 9th Oyo State House of Assembly .

The eight Ministries earlier established include Ministry of Budget and Planning, Ministry of Public Works, Infrastructure and Transport, Ministry of Investment,Trade and Industries and Ministry of Women Affairs and Social Inclusion.

Others are Ministry of Energy, Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development, Ministry of Establishment and Training as well as Ministry of Finance.

The Speaker ,Oyo State House of Assembly,Hon Adebo Ogundoyin said the twelve ministries are in tandem with the resolve of Governor Seyi Makinde to ensure effective service delivery and improve productivity in all Government ministries .

Hon Ogundoyin added that the exercise will also bring Government nearer to the people and equally ensure the provision of basic infrastructure to the grassroot.

The Speaker maintained that the Bill  were thoroughly scrutinized by the lawmakers to ensure there are no overlapping of functions.

Out of all the twelve ministries, it is only the Ministry of Energy that was newly created while others were reconstituted from already existing ones.

Meanwhile, the Oyo state House of Assembly will on Thursday screen names of Commissioner designates as well as Chairman and two other members of the State Universal Basic Education Board, SUBEB.

The two lists had earlier been forwarded to the Oyo State House of Assembly by Governor Seyi Makinde.



Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here