Home News Oyo Assembly Confirms 14 Commissioners, Others

Oyo Assembly Confirms 14 Commissioners, Others


By Richard Thomas, Ibadan

The Oyo State House of Assembly on Thursday screened and confirmed fourteen commissioner designates sent to its by Governor Seyi Makinde.

The Assembly had weeks recieved their names for screening and scrutiny before their appearance for screening and confirmation on Thursday.

Four of the  commissioner designates  are former lawmakers in the Oyo state house of Assembly ,Hon Kehinde Ayoola (former Oyo House Speaker), Hon Adeniyi Farinto, Hon (Mrs) Funmilayo Orisadeyi (the only female designate) and Hon Muyiwa Jacob Ojekunle.

Others are Chief Bayo Ojo,Dr Bashir Abiodun Bello, Prof Oyelowo Oyewo,Prof Dawud Sangodoyin, Barr Olasunkanmi Olaleye and Mr Adeniyi Olabode Adebisi.

The remaining commissioner nominees whose appointment were confirmed are Mr Raheem Abiodun Abdulraheem,Barr Seun Asamu, Dr Wasiu Olatunbosun and Mr Akinola Ojo.

They were asked probing questions bothering on their professional and educational experiences and how they intend to bring their wealth of knowledge and training to bear in the various positions they are being considered for.

The commissioner designates expressed happiness after their confirmation by the Assembly and described the opportunity as a call to serve the people of Oyo state and also contribute to good governance as promised by the PDP led administration in Oyo state.

The plenary presided over by Hon Adebo Ogundoyin also screened and confirmed the appointment of Dr Nureni Adeniran as Chairman of State Universal Basic Education Board(SUBEB) in Oyo state while Mr Akeem Oladeji and Hon Dayo Ogungbenro were confirmed as full time members of the board.

Hon Ogundoyin said the resolve of Governor Seyi Makinde to transform Oyo state is not in doubt going by the caliber of people being considered for  appointment into the state executive council.

The Speaker maintained that virtually all the appointees are technocrats and highly cerebral people who have or are making waives in their chosen careers.

They  are expected to be sworn in by Governor Seyi Makinde anytime soon.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here