Home News State By State Oyo Assembly Honours Outgoing Clerk With Special Plenary Session

Oyo Assembly Honours Outgoing Clerk With Special Plenary Session


…..Swears In Yetunde Awe

By Richard Thomas, Ibadan

The Oyo State House of Assembly on Tuesday held a special plenary session to honour the outgoing Clerk and Permanent Secretary of Oyo State House of Assembly, Mrs. Felicia Foluke Oyediran.

The retirement service which coincided with her 60th birthday celebration attracted special guests and dignitaries,  staff, friends and member of the state civil service at the occasion.

In their separate sermons at the service, the Chairman Baptist Convention, Rev. Stephen Adekunle and Imam Mustapha Maruf thanked God for the good testimonies of Mrs. Oyediran in the service of the Assembly.

They said God wants people in the leadership position to lead with His fear in order to make things work well at any giving point.

According to them, the outgoing clerk `has done well and led well with fear of God and with good example while in service.

Rev. Adekunle who buttressed his sermon with the book of Luke 6:39-40 said Mrs Felicia as a good leader had led very well, just as he prayed God to continue to protect and bless her way.

The Speaker, Honourable Adebo Ogundoyin and members of the Assembly in their comments described the outgoing Clerk as a dynamic and hardworking woman who had a good record in the  service of the Assembly.

The Deputy Speaker, Hon. Mohammed Fadeyi said: “She worked closely with me in the  Business and Rules of the House. She is an encyclopedia of the Assembly and a very committed officer.”

In her speech, Mrs Oyediran thanked God Almighty and members  of the House for their love, support and cooperation while in service.

“I really want to thank the Speaker and members of the 9th House of Assembly for their cooperation and mutual understanding while in service. They really encouraged me..”

Mrs. Oyediran got into the service of the Assembly in 1992 as Clerk at the Table.

She rose through the ranks until she became the Clerk and Permanent Secretary of the Assembly in 2019, having spent 32 years, 3months and 27 days in service.


She advised staff and members of the work force in the Assembly to be hard working and committed to progress of the House.

Consequently,  the Assembly has confirmed Mrs Yetunde Awe as the new Clerk of the House.

Until her confirmation, Mrs Awe was former Deputy Clerk of the Assembly. She functioned as Director, Legislative Planning, Research and Library Services between December 2015 and January  2019.

In her speech, she promised to work assiduously to contribute meaningfully to the progress of the House.

Mrs Awe also promised to partner with the House of Assembly Service Commission to ensure welfare staff of the House.




Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here