Home The Politico OYO GUBER: A Post Mortem

OYO GUBER: A Post Mortem


The governorship election in Oyo State has come and gone, OLAOLU BILAU analyses the votes scored in the five geo-political zones of Ibadanland, Oyo, Ogbomosoland, Oke-Ogun and Ibarapaland by the three leading candidates: the winner, Governor Abiola Ajimobi of the All Progressives Congress (APC), his closest challenger, Senator Rashidi Ladoja of Accord and second runner up, Otunba Adebayo Alao Akala of the Labour Party…


As expected, Ibadanland which has 11 local government areas and highest number of registered voters, turned out to be the battleground, especially between Governor Ajimobi and Senator Ladoja. Ladoja won in the traditional strongholds of Accord including Ona Ara, Egbeda, Akinyele, Lagelu and Ibadan North-east. The Accord governorship candidate got 159, 350 votes from Ibadanland, which is 62 percent of the total votes he received across the five geo-political zones of the state.

On the other hand, Governor Ajimobi received 162, 135 votes in Ibadanland that is about 50 percent of the total votes garnered by the APC candidate.


There are four local government areas in Oyo zone: Afijio, Atiba, Oyo East and Oyo West. Expectedly, Governor Ajimobi won in all four. Eleven percent of Ajimobi’s votes came from the area while Senator Ladoja garnered 9 percent of his total votes from Oyo.


The Labour Party governorship candidate, Otunba Adebayo Alao Akala proved once again he remained a strong force in his home town of Ogbomoso as he won in all the five local government areas of Ogbomoso North, South, Ogo Oluwa, Oriire and Surulere. In Ogbomoso North alone, Akala got 29, 010 votes and when the votes of all the other four major contenders are added, the difference between the votes polled by the Labour Party candidate and the other four leading candidates put together is over 21, 000 votes, the highest margin in the contest.


In terms of number of local government areas, Oke-Ogun has 11: Atisbo, Irepo, Iseyin, Itesiwaju, Iwajowa, Kajola, Olorunsogo, Saki East, Saki West and Oorelope. Governor Ajimobi won in 9 out of the 10 local government areas, while Otunba Akala won only Oorelope. And like in the 2011 election, Senator Ladoja had a dismal showing in the zone, failing to win a single council area.


Of the three local government areas in Ibarapaland, the APC candidate won two: Ibarapa North and Ibarapa East while Accord won in Ibarapa Central.

Overall Picture

A look at the overall results of the election showed that APC had 25 per cent of the votes in 29 local government areas. Other parties did not meet the statutory requirement of 25 per cent. Accord had only 17 per cent. The APC won across all the geo-political zones except Ogbomosoland. Accord won in Ibadan and Ibarapa while Labour Party won in Ogbomoso and Oke Ogun.


Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here