Home News Oyo LG Polls:  OYSIEC Boss, Olagunju Promises To Conduct Free, Fair Election

Oyo LG Polls:  OYSIEC Boss, Olagunju Promises To Conduct Free, Fair Election


By Richard Thomas, Ibadan

The newly sworn-in Chairman of Oyo State Independent,  Electoral Commission (OYSIEC), Mr. Isiaka Olagunju has said fervent prayers will go a  long in helping the commission to successfully carry out its onerous assignment of holding a free and fair local government election in the state.

The OYSIEC boss made the submission in a chat with newsmen shortly after his swearing recently.

According to him, “We are ready to hit the grounds running and deliver the mandate given to us with every sense of responsibility.

“Our Commission is made up of quality, self-made and committed people. In addition, our governor has pledged to ensure a level-playing field and he is willing to give us everything we need to make our job easy.”

Meanwhile, the state’s governor, Engineer Seyi Makinde has charged OYSIEC to deliver credible, free and fair local government election in the state.

The governor gave this charge while swearing in the commission headed by Mr. Isiaka Olagunju.

Makinde further charged the commission to, within the shortest possible time, make the will of the people prevail by conducting a local government election that is unbiased.

Olagunju said the essence of inaugurating the board is to organise and manage local government election, adding that this is their mandate and they have to follow it.

“We were just inaugurated and given this mandate, so, we need to go back to the office, see what is happening before we can talk about when to hold the election. It is possible this year but everything depends on the circumstances that we find ourselves when we get to the office.

“When His Excellency was inaugurating the commission, he gave us the mandate that we must ensure that the will of the people prevail and that it is sacrosanct. So, we want to assure the people of Oyo State that we will conduct a transparent, credible and acceptable election.

“I can also assure that people will have confidence and trust in the commission. It will be our joy that all political parties will participate in the election process. The governor has also said that we should not favour any party, because he is not in support of impartiality.”

The Board members include: Comrade Adeniji Babatunde, Alhaja Ganiyat Saka, Mr. Emmanuel Olanrewaju, Chief Kunmi Agboola, Mr. Aderemi Ayoade, Mr. Sunday Falana and Mr. Adeojo Elias.

The swearing-in was attended by the Deputy Governor, Engr. Rauf Olaniyan; Secretary to the State Government, Mrs. Olubamiwo Adeosun; Chief of Staff, Chief Bisi Ilaka; Head of Service, Mrs. Ololade Agboola and other cabinet members, as well as chieftains of the PDP in the state, led by the chairman, Alhaji Kunmi Mustapha.




Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here