Home News State By State Makinde Swears-In 32 Newly Elected Council Chairmen

Makinde Swears-In 32 Newly Elected Council Chairmen


By Bode Akinbode, Ibadan

TheS32 newly elected local government chairmen in Oyo state were on Monday sworn-in by the State Governor, Engr. Seyi Makinde

Elections for the chairmanship and councillorship positions in the 33 local government areas of the state were held on May 22, 2021 with 17 out of the 18 registered political parties contesting.

The ceremony which took place at the House of Chiefs,  Secretariat, Ibadan amid pomp and color was well attended by Peoples Democratic Party(PDP) chieftains and supporters from each of the local government council areas

Governor Makinde, in his brief address, congratulated the chairmen and councilors, even as charged them to see their positions as an opportunity to deliver good governance to the people at the grassroots.

The governor also urged them to replicate the good governance initiative of the state government at the grassroots, stressing that the importance of good governance cannot be overemphasized

He said just as the people of the state are holding his administration accountable, they must also be accountable to their people.

The newly sworn-in chairmen are: Mr Raheem Akeem Adepoju (Oorelope), Sulaiman Adediran (Irepo), Mrs Juliana Oluwakemi Akanni (Olorunsogo), Akanji Kabir Ayoade (Ogbomoso North), Oyeniyi Timothy Oyedokun (Ogbomoso South) and Olugbenga Obalowo (Ibarapa East).

Jelili Oyinloye Adebare (Iwajowa), Fasasi Adeagbo (ATISBO), Mrs Ramat Adeniran (Saki-East), Sarafadeen Omirinde (Saki-West), Adebare Muraina Afolabi (Kajola), Adesoye Seun Ojo (Ogo-Oluwa) Bolaji Ojo Akintola (Itesiwaju). Olateju Michael Alabi (Oriire), Adegbite Isaiah Alabi (Surulere), Adedoyin Oloyede Adeoye (Ibarapa Central), Lateef Adebayo Lawal (Ibarapa North), Muftau Osuolale (Iseyin) and Sunday Akindele Ojo (Afijio).

Others are Kafilat Olakojo (Atiba), Musbaudeen Adesina Sanusi (Ona-Ara), Babatunde Akeem Salam i(Oyo West), Saheed Arowosaye Adeyemi (Oyo East), Ibrahim Akintayo (Ibadan North-East) and Taoheed Jimoh Adedigba (Akinyele).

Olaide Popoola (Oluyole), Kazeem Gbadamosi (Lagelu), Oyedele Sikiru Sanda(Egbeda), Kehinde Adeyemi Akanni (Ibadan South-West), Musbaudeen Sanusi (Ona-Ara), Saheed Oladayo Yusuf (Ibadan North) and Emmanuel Oluwole Alawode (Ibadan South-East).

The State Independent Electoral commission (OYSIEC) resheuled  elections in Ido Local Government  for Wednesday, May 26 following the omission of the logo of one of the contesting parties, Zenith Labour Party








Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here