Home Political Notes Oyo: Who Takes Over From Ambassador Akeju?

Oyo: Who Takes Over From Ambassador Akeju?


Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) Chairman, Prof. Attahiru Jega, and six National Commissioners are bowing out of the commission on Tuesday at the expiration of their five-year tenure. They were all inaugurated on June 30, 2010 by former President Goodluck Jonathan. Among the national commissioners taking their exit is Prof. Lai Olurode from Iwo, Osun State in the South-west. Jega and the commissioners are leaving INEC with their heads unbowed. They are leaving on a high note so to say. The nation will forever remember the 2015 polls conducted by Jega and his team, which was widely adjudged as successful and credible. They have all written their names in gold and history will record them as such. Unknown to many, however, tenures of some 16 states Resident Electoral Commissioners (REC) had also expired and they had quietly took their exits from INEC last week. A gala night was held in their honour by the commission last week Thursday at the Le Meridien Hotel, Uyo, Akwa Ibom State. Three of the RECs hail from the South-west. They are Dr. A. L. Ogunmola (Oyo), Mr. Timothy Ibitoye (Osun) and Ambassador Rufus Akeju (Lagos). Of the lot, it would seem that Ambassador Akeju’s name would ring louder. Akeju’s last port of call was Oyo where he superintended over the just-concluded 2015 elections. Though controversy had dogged his person, from his days in Osun as REC, the ambassador is widely seen as a man of impeccable character who has served his country meritoriously in the various capacities he has found himself. The controversy allegedly created to smear him, many say, has not tainted his image and person in any way. Indeed, what many in Oyo are looking forward to now is -who comes after Ambassador Akeju? Just who is coming to replace Akeju as Oyo REC?


Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here