Home Politics Factions Hold Parallel APC LG Congresses In Lagos

Factions Hold Parallel APC LG Congresses In Lagos



Factions of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Lagos State on Saturday held parallel Local government Congresses at different locations in the state.

The faction loyal to the State Caretaker Committee Chairman, Alhaji Tunde Balogun held their congresses in designated areas as spelt out by the APC Local Government Congress Committee, while the faction loyal to the Lead Visioner of the Lagos4Lagos Movement, Olajide Adediran, held parallel congresses in different locations in the state.

In Ifako/Ijaiye local government, the Balogun faction, held their congress at Ifako-Ijaiye annex office commonly known as NRC building.

Hon. Sultan Adeniji-Adele , a member of the APC LG Congress Electoral Committee for Ifako/Ijaiye Local Government, who accredited the delegates ward by ward before the affirmation of the consensus candidates, called out the names of the candidates and the delegates affirmed their leadership with a voice votes.

At the congress, 27 executives and three national delegates emerged. Deacon Banjo Omole emerged as Chairman, Jelili Olaiya (Vice Chairman), Sanjo Ogunboyede (Secretary),Aduroju Olusola(Legal Adviser),Fatimah Owolabi (Treasurer), Kole Awogbule(Fin. Secretary), Oni Falokun (Organising Secretary).

Others are Toyin Taiwo (Publicity Secretary), Femi Smith (Auditor), Alhaji Sekinat Gbajobi (Women Leader), Alamutu Awwal (Youth Leader) Lekan Owolabi (Physically Challenged).

The three national delegates are; Mr Akin Fadayomi, Adekunle Olayinka, and Benjamin Olabinjo.

Speaking with journalists, Adeniji-Adele said that the peaceful coexistence among party faithful aided the smooth conduct of the congress.

He said that party leaders and members had demonstrated proper conduct and peaceful co-existence irrespective of various tribes that made up the party in the council.

Explaining the process, Adeniji-Adele said that the committee started with accreditation of party’s delegates who in turn voted for the LG party executives.

According to him, this was done by affirmation.

“The second step was to go ahead to call candidates for different offices and all party members here affirmed through voice vote their election as excos. This made our job easier here,” said Adeniji-Adele.

In Agege Local Government, the Lagos4Lagos Movement, held its congress separately from the designated venue.

At the congress, 27 executives and three national delegates emerged.

Babatunde Odikunrin emerged as Chairman, while Ogunleye Babatunde emerged Vice Chairman with other 25 executives.

Names of the three national delegates elected by the group are; Prince Sunday Ajayi, Dr Kayode Opeifa, and Hon. Afolabi Rasheed.

Speaking with journalists after the congress, Prince Sunday Ajayi, Vice Chairman, Apex Committee for Lagos4 Lagos Group,who noted that he was a foundation member of APC, decried impunity within the party.

Ajayi said the congress was conducted as prescribed and directed by the national body of the party.

According to him, all the ward excos across various council areas gathered to elect LG excos of the party at their respective council areas.

He said that the group had on Friday inaugurated all the ward excos that emerged during the July 31 ward congresses in the state.

Ajayi said that the group use consensus method, according to the party guidelines, to elect its LG officers across the 20 recognised LGs in the state

According to him, the group has also chosen its three national delegates for the APC National Convention.

One of the group’s leaders in Agege, Hon. Afolabi Rasheed, commended the loyalty of members to the party supremacy.

Also, in Somolu Local Government, two different congresses were conducted.

Mr Jimmy, a former APC Caretaker Chairman from ward F emerged as Chairman in a congress conducted by loyalists of Hon. Ademorin Kuye (House Of Representatives member) while Mr Olisa emerged Chairman in a separate congress conducted by the loyalists of the Council Chairman, Mr Hameed Salau.

Both local government congresses were held at Agunbiade pry school, Somolu.


Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here