Home News How PDP Won All 18 Ondo Council Chairmanship Seats

How PDP Won All 18 Ondo Council Chairmanship Seats


The Peoples Democratic Party has swept the chairmanship positions in all the 18 councils in the Ondo State local government poll.

The results were announced on Sunday in Akure by Prof. Olugbenga Ige, the Chairman of the Ondo State Independent Electoral Commission, at a post-election news conference.

Ige said the PDP won 202 out of the 203 wards in the councillorship election, while the Allied Congress Party of Nigeria won one ward.

The chairman said ACPN won the councillorship election at Ward 9, Oba-Ile in Akure North Local Government Area.
The News Agency of Nigeria reports that 14 political parties participated in the election that was adjudged free and fair by stakeholders.

Ige said ODIEC was determined to carry all political parties along in its drive to move the state forward by entrenching grassroots democracy.

He praised residents of the state for the confidence they reposed in ODIEC in carrying out the election.
Ige also lauded the State Government, non-governmental bodies and security agencies for their support before and during the election.


Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here