Home News President Buhari Appoints New Service Chiefs

President Buhari Appoints New Service Chiefs

Nigerian Defence Chiefs
Outgoing Service Chiefs

President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the appointment of new service chiefs as well as a new a National Security Adviser.This followed  the sacking on Monday  of all  the service chiefs and the National Security Adviser he inherited from President Goodluck Jonathan.

According to a statement by Femi Adesina, special adviser to the president (media and publicity)  the newly appointed service chiefs include, Major-General Abayomi Gabriel Olonishakin  as  Chief of Defence Staff, Major-General T.Y. Buratai  as Chief of Army Staff, Rear Admiral Ibok-Ete Ekwe Ibas – Chief of Naval Staff, Air Vice Marshal Sadique Abubakar as Chief of Air Staff  and Air Vice Marshal Monday Riku  Morgan  as Chief of Defence Intelligence

Also the President appointed Major-General Babagana Monguno (rtd.) as the new National Security Adviser (NSA).

A statement by Adesina said the new Chief of Defence Staff, Maj.-Gen. Olonishakin (N/6901) hails from Ekiti State. Until his appointment as Chief of Defence Staff today, he was the Head of the Nigerian Army Training and Doctrine Command in Minna, Niger State.

The new Chief of Army Staff, Maj.-Gen. Buratai hails from Borno State. Until his new appointment today, he was the Commander of the Multinational Joint Task Force which has its headquarters in Ndjamena. Maj-Gen. Buratai has previously served as Commander of the Nigerian Army’s 2nd Brigade in Port Harcourt and Commander of the Nigerian Army School of Infantry in Jaji, Kaduna State.

Also, the new Chief of Naval Staff, Rear Admiral  Ibas (NN/0746) hails from Cross River State.  His previous appointments include: Naval Provost Marshal, Chief Staff Officer, Naval Training Command, Chief of Administration, Naval Headquarters, Flag Officer Commanding Western Naval Command and Chief of Logistics, Naval Headquarters. Until his appointment as Chief of Naval Staff, he was the Chief Executive Officer of Navy Holdings Limited.

The new Chief of Air Staff, Air Vice Marshal Abubakar (NAF/1433) hails from Bauchi State.  His previous appointments include: Chief of Standards and Evaluation, NAF Headquarters; Chief of Defence Communications and Air Officer Commanding, NAF Training Command. Until his new appointment today as Chief of Air Staff, he was the Chief of Administration, NAF Headquarters.

Adesina further stated that the newly appointed chiefs would be serving in acting capacity till their appointments are ratified by the Senate.


Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here