Home News State By State Protest in Ogun State as Amosun Releases Consensus’ Candidate Names

Protest in Ogun State as Amosun Releases Consensus’ Candidate Names


It was a state of pandemonium following the announcement of the Consensus Candidates list of All Progressives Congress in a meeting held on Tuesday at Presidential lodge Abeokuta, Ogun State.  Most of the supporters of the aspirants, who lost out in the arrangement rejected the list immediately rejected the list.

While some members hailed the governor and jubilated over the choice of their proffered candidates, many others rejected the arrangement and threatened to obtain the forms to participate in the primaries. Some of the aggrieved members even called the party leaders including the state governor Senator Ibikunle Amosun unprintable names as the governor hastily left the venue for Abuja.

The consensus candidates for the three Senatorial Districts are the state governor, Senator Ibikunle Amosun (Ogun Central), Chief Lekan Mustapha (Ogun -East) and the Chief of Staff to the state governor, Mr Tolu Odebiyi (Ogun- West)

Others were the six consensus candidates for House of Representatives seats the Speaker of the state House of Assembly, Hon.Suraj Adekunbi (Egbado North/Ipokia); former chairman of Ado-Odo/Ota, Mr Rotimi Rahman(Ota); the State Commissioner for Special Duties, Mr Leke Adewolu(Ewekoro/Ifo).

Others are the Director General of Bureau of Lands, Mr Biyi Ismail (Ijebu North/Ijebu North-East/Ogun -waterside); Mr. Biyi Otegbeye (Egbado South /Ipokia) and Hon. Mikail Kazeem ( Abeokuta North/Obafemi-Owode/ Odeda). Meanwhile the list of House of Representatives was left with three candidates .

Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here