Home Features Sanwo-Olu Swear-in LASU Governing Council

Sanwo-Olu Swear-in LASU Governing Council




Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu on Thursday swore-in the Chairman and Members of the Lagos State University (LASU) Governing Council at the Lagos House, Alausa Ikeja.

At the event , Sanwo-Olu noted this inauguration signals a new chapter of progress and resolution of issues surrounding the appointment of a substantive Vice Chancellor for the University.

According to him ‘You would recall that in May this year, the LASU Vice-Chancellorship Special Visitation Panel constituted by the State Government to look into various allegations and criticisms trailing the selection process for the appointment of the 9th Vice Chancellor of the University submitted its reports.

The Professor Bamitale Omole led Special Visitation Panel submitted its report, having worked independently for 37 days, including extending invitations to all necessary stakeholders and parties involved in the matter so as to give room for fair hearing, equity and transparency.
One of the recommendations is for the dissolution of the previous Governing Council and the removal of the Pro Chancellor and Chairman of the Council.

Based on the conviction by the State Government that the Panel did a thorough job and the report was not based on biases or sentiments, the report of the panel was upheld and the existing Governing Council was then dissolved accordingly.
In order not to create a vacuum, It therefore becomes imperative that a new Governing Council is put in place to oversee the affairs of the University in accordance with the Lagos State University Law, Cap L69, Volume 7, Laws of Lagos State, 2015 as amended. The inauguration of the new Governing Council of the University in line with the Special Visitation Panel’s recommendations and provision of the law is the essence of our gathering here today.’

Sanwo-Olu in his address called on members of the new LASU Governing Council to allow their wealth of experience and accomplishments in their various chosen professions to impact positively on the management, policy formulations and smooth running of the University.

Members of the LASU Governing Council are
– Sir David Olabanji Adewale Sunmoni (Chairman)
– Mrs Tolagbe Taiwo
– Mrs Moronke Williams
– Mr Tolani Sule
– Dr Hakeem Adetugbobo
– Mr Anuoluwapo Oladele Eso
– Mr Adebayo Akinsanya
– Mrs Foluke Kafayat AbdulRazaq
– Prof. Shaffideen Adeniyi Amuwo
– Mrs Adenike Yomi-Faseun
– Mr Adekunle Soname
– Mr Karl Tokun Toriola
– Dr Ifeanyi Chukwuma Odii
– Prof. Adedamola Oke (Acting VC LASU)
– Mr Emmanuel Fanu (Acting Registrar LASU)







Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here