Saturday, May 8, 2021
Home News Saraki Reshuffles Senate Committee Chairmen, Deputies

Saraki Reshuffles Senate Committee Chairmen, Deputies


The President of the Senate, Dr. Abubakar Bukola Saraki, has reshuffled the headship of the various committees of the Senate.

Saraki announced the reshuffling at the end of Tuesday’s plenary.

He said the move was designed to strengthen the institution of the Senate as well as ensure that proper oversight functions were carried out.

According to Saraki, the Committee on Public Accounts now has Senator Matthew Urhoghide (PDP, Edo South) as Chairman, just as Committee on Trade and Investment will now be headed by Senator Sabo Mohammed, while Interior committee now has Senator Andy Uba as Chairman.

Culture and Tourism is to be Chaired by Senator Raji Razaki and Local Content by Senator Adeola Olamilekan.

Cooperation and Integration is now chaired by Senator Stella Oduah, while Capital Market Development is now headed Senator Bukar Mustapha.

Before now, Senator Urhoghide was Chairman, Senate Committee on Culture and Tourism, while Capital Market was chaired by late Senator Isiaka Adeleke.

Others are Mohammed Sani, Vice Chairman, Committee on Trade and Investment; Ademola Adeleke, Vice Chairman, Committee on Communications; Godswill Akpabio, Vice Chairman, Committee on Local Content; and Babajide Omoworare, Vice Chairman, committee on Judiciary, Human Rights and Legal Matters.


Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here