Home News State By State Schools Reopening: KWSG Warns Schools Against 3rd Term Fees Collection

Schools Reopening: KWSG Warns Schools Against 3rd Term Fees Collection

Kwara state Commissioner for Education and Human Capital Development,Hajia Fatimah Bisola Ahmed

By Mosunmola Ayobami, Kwara

Kwara State Government has warned Principals and private schools owners not to collect third term school fees from parents and guardians as the 2020/2021 academic session commences on Monday.

The State Commissioner for Education and Human Capital Development, Hajia Fatimah Ahmed disclosed this during a stakeholder meeting held at St Anthony Secondary School on Friday.

Hajia  Ahmed, who reminded the stakeholders that Governor AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq has approved October 5, 2020, as the beginning of 2020/2021 academic session, stressed that no school under any disguise should collect third term fees.

She suggested that rather schools should organized revision classes and placement examination within two weeks of resumption.

Represented by the Director, Quality Assurance Bureau, Mrs Comfort Abioye, the Commissioner disclosed that Basic Education Certificate Examination (BECE) will start on Tuesday, October 6, 2020, while Common Entrance will hold on October 17, 2020.

Hajia Ahmed enjoined all schools to comply with the Covid-19 guidelines in order to flatten the curve of the pandemic and avoid contraction among students.

The Commissioner also said the swapping of principals to curb examination malpractices will continue in both BECE and the forthcoming NECO examinations.

“Principals in public schools will be swapped to other schools to monitor and supervise exams. This will allow external invigilators to do their work effectively and efficiently,” she said.

The approved Kwara State School Calendar for 2020/2021 Academic Session is as follows:

First Term – October 5, 2020, to December 18, 2020

Second Term – January 4, 2021, to March 31, 2021

Third Term – April 26, 2021, to July 30, 2021

2021/2022 Academic Session begins:

First Term – September 20, 2021, to December 17, 2021, respectively.





Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here