Home News Senate Approves Obiora as CBN Deputy Governor

Senate Approves Obiora as CBN Deputy Governor


The Senate has confirmed the nomination of Dr. Kingsley Isitua Obiora for appointment as the Deputy Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria(CBN).

President Muhammadu Buhari, had in a letter to the Senate President, Ahmad Lawan, urged the senate to screen and confirm the appointment of Obiora for the position.

The confirmation of Obiora followed the consideration of the report of the Senate Committee on Banking, Insurance and other Financial Institutions by the Senate.

Chairman of the Committee, Senator Uba Sani (Kaduna Central) presented the report.

The Senate approved the appointment of Zikrullah (Sikiru) Olakunle Hassan as the Chairman of the National Hajj Commission of Nigeria (NAHCON).

Other members of the Commission confirmed by the upper chamber include the Executive Commissioner-Operation, Inspection and Licensing, Abdullahi Magaji Hardawa, Executive Commissioner-Policy, Personnel, Management and Finance, Nura Hassan Yakasai and the Executive Commissioner, Planning, Research, Statistics, Information and Library, Sheikh Momoh Suleman Imonikhe.

Other part-time members of the Commission also approved by the Senate include: Mrs Halimat Jibril (Niger State), Abba Jato (Borno State), Garba Umar (Sokoto State), Ibrahim Ogbonnia Amah (Ebonyi State), Sadiq Oniyesaneyene Musa (Delta State) and Mrs. Akintude Basirat Olayinka (Ogun State).

Representatives of Ministries, Departments and Agencies (MDAs) are Shehu Dogo (Ministry of Aviation), Nura Abba Rimi (Ministry of Foriegn Affairs), Rabi Bello Isa (Finance, Budget and National Planning) and Zainab Ujudud Sherrif (Health).

Others are Aminu Bako Yerima (Nigeria Immigration Service), Ibrahim Ishaq Nuhu (Central Bank of Nigeria), Dr. Bala Muhammad (Jama’atul Nasril Islam) and Mrs. Yusuf Chinedozi Nwoha (Nigerian Supreme Council of Islamic Affairs)


Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here