Home News Soun’s Son, Alaafin’s Nominee Make List as Ajimobi Sends 17 Names to...

Soun’s Son, Alaafin’s Nominee Make List as Ajimobi Sends 17 Names to Oyo Assembly for Ratification as Commissioners


By Adeola Oladele, Ibadan

The much-expected list of the commissioner-nominees in Oyo State has been finally sent to the Oyo State House of Assembly by Governor Abiola Ajimobi for approval and ratification.

According to a letter with reference no. Gov/2016//05/120 dated 26th May, 2016 written by the Governor and read by the Speaker at Wednesday’s plenary, Ms. Taibat A. Adaba, believed to be a nominee of the Alaafin of Oyo, Barr. Prince Oyewumi Oyewole, son of the Soun of Ogbomosho, who contested the House of Representatives election in the 2015 general election and lost to a Labour Party candidate and a governorship aspirant during the 2015 gubernatorial election, Dr Azeez Adeduntan were among the nominees.

Others are Mr. Abimbola Adekanmbi, former Deputy Chief of Staff to the Governor; Mrs. Atinuke Silifat Osunkoya, immediate-past Commissioner for Women Affairs; Mr Abimbola Kolade, former Commissioner for Works; Barr. Abayomi Oke, Son of APC Chairman in Oyo State, Chief Akin Oke; Mr Wasiu O. Dauda also a former Commissioner; Mr Ajiboye Omodewu, a former Commissioner for Lands and Mr Isaac Ishola Adisa respectively.

Others include Mr. Abdul Ganiyu Mudashiru, Mr. Toye Arulogun, Mr Oluseun Abimbola, Professor Niyi Olowofela, a former Chairman of Ido Local Government and Mr Fatai Salawu, also a former Chairman of Ibarapa North Local Government.

In the same vein, the Assembly also received the list of the chairman and seven members of Oyo State Independent Electoral Commission (OYSIEC) for approval for the purpose of conducting local government elections in the state.

They are Mr Adewale Ajeigbe, Chairman from Oke Ogun zone. Other members are Mr. Sunday Aborisade, Mr Adedeji Raimi Alabi, Mr Adedeji Adeagbo, Alh. Bello Lateef, Mrs Omolola Odekunbi, Alfa Abdul Razak Abdulkamal Akuru and Mr Rasheed Olajide Oyekanmi.

However, all the nominees have been directed to forward 40 copies each of their credentials to the office of the Clerk of the House on or before Friday 3rd June, 2016.


Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here