Arapaja Beats Olafeso, Becomes PDP National Vice Chairman, South West


    By Deborah Oladejo, Osogbo

    Ambassador Taofeek Arapaja of the camp of Oyo State Governor, Seyi Makinde has defeated his opponent, Dr. Eddy Olafeso of the Ayo Fayose’s camp to become the southwest Chairman of Peoples’ Democratic Party (PDP).

    684 delegates were accredited and voted. There were 10 voided votes after the counting.

    Arapaja was elected chairman with 343 votes, while Olafeso got 330 votes.

    Ekiti – out of 115 delegates on the list, 104 were accredited and voted.

    Lagos – out of 101 on the list, 90 delegates were accredited and voted.

    Ogun – Out of 114 on the list,101 accredited and voting ongoing.

    Ondo- Out of 113 on the list, 104 accredited.

    Osun – out of 134 on the list, 111 were accredited and voted

    Oyo – out of 171 on the list, 165 were accredited and voted.

    Announcing the results, the Deputy Governor of Benue State, Benson Abonu who is the chairman of the PDP Electoral committee declared Araja winner of the Chairmanship contest.

    Reacting after the result was announced,  Olafeso who conceded  defeat promised to work with Arapaja:

    His words: “The storm is over, there is a new beginning for our party. We have to thank God almighty that despite odds, there is a new beginning for our party. The time is now. I thank everybody who supported me.”

    Arapaja in his victory speech noted that the party is sharply divided in the zone and promised to bring everybody together and become one big family.

    He said  ” We thank Governor Seyi Makinde and former Governor Fayose. It’s our party. We will work together and move the party forward. We want to reposition the party. I will work with my brother Olafeso to achieve our aims.”



    Like and Share this:


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here