Home Features Those Conducting Parallel Congress Are Engaging In Tea Party-Sanwo-Olu

Those Conducting Parallel Congress Are Engaging In Tea Party-Sanwo-Olu


*Reveals Tinubu Called Twice To Get Update About The Congress
*As Ojelabi Emerges Consensus State Chairman

After weeks of bickering among members of the All Progressives Congress in Lagos State, Mr. Cornelius Ojelabi emerged the state’s party chairman through consensus.

The Congress, which took place at Mobolaji Johnson Arena , also saw 35 other executive members elected through voice votes, in an election conducted by the Chairman, Lagos APC Congress Committee, Bayo Adelabu, while the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) monitored the election through Sheu AbdulWahab.

Adelabu disclosed that 1 615 delegates were screened for the exercise

Speaking at the venue, Lagos State Governor, Mr. Babajide Sanwo-Olu said he was not aware of any other congress in the state.

The newly elected Exco members are, Cornelius Ojelabi-Chairman, Olalenrewaju Maiyegun-Deputy chairman, Sunmi Odesanya-Secretary, Animausun Adejumoke-Assistant Secretary, Tunde Aboyade- Vice Chairman (West), Oladunjoye- Vice Chair (East), Hon Abayomi Daramola- Vice Chairman (Central), Folasade Bakare- Legal Adviser (Central), Adebola Adewunmi-Ladigbolu- Assistant Legal (West), Biodun Aigbe-Treasurer, Oludele Sonola- Assistant Treasurer and Doyin Banjo- Financial Secretary.

Also elected are: Alhaja Funke Olaleye- Assistant Finicial Secretary, Adewale Ayodele- Organizing Secretary, Bayo Sanwo-Olu- Assistant Organizing Secretary, Oluseye Oladejo- Publicity Secretary, Yesiru Karamo- Assistant Publicity Secretary, Kehinde Adeniyi- Welfare Secretary, Akinola Idowu- Assistant Welfare Secretary, Doyin Pikuda-Auditor, Salisu Elegushi- Assistant Auditor Jumoke Okoya-Thomas- Woman Leader, Kehinde Babalola-Assistant Women leader and Dr Muritala Seriki- Youth Leader.

Others are, Prince Razak Omoloja- Assistant Youth Leader, Israel Akiode- Special (Physically Challenged) Leader, Rasheed Gbose- Senatorial Youth Leader (Ajeromi), Gbenga Balogun- Senatorial Youth Leader (Ibeju Lekki), Sulaiman Animashaun- Senatorial Youth leader (Mainland) and Bola Badmus Olujobi- Senatorial Woman Leader (west).
The rest are, Wonuola Aje Osinowo- Senatorial Woman leader (East) Module Olawoyin- Senatorial Woman Leader, (Central), Abu Oriyomi-.Ex officio 1, Babatunde Olaoluwa- Ex officio 2, Alhaji Kpapiko Mohammmed-Ex officio 3, Ngozi Chinweuko-.Ex officio 4 and Idris Aregbe- Youth Organizing Secretary.

Sanwo-Olu said: “Let me on behalf of the entire cabinet and the people of Lagos State thank God for the fairest, simplest and non-violent congress. The committee has conducted the election professionally.”

While answering question on the parallel congress that was being conducted in the state, the Governor said: “I am not aware of any other congress. Maybe because of your work, you are able to see those who are engaging in a tea party.”

While thanking APC national leader, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu, the governor said: “Asiwaju called me twice while the congress was ongoing and I told him all is well. You can see that females are well represented, almost outstripping the number of men.

“The team comprises of men of timber and calibre. I hope the team will take Lagos to higher level.”

In his acceptance speech, Ojelabi assured that the new team was ready to consolidate on the achievements of the outgone Exco.

“Today marks another milestone in the history of Lagos State. We are ready to carry on from the achievements of the outgoing Exco.

“All what has been achieved was due to our leader and pathfinder of Nigerian democracy, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu.

“My deep appreciation also goes to Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu for his numerous.developmental projects and poverty alleviation programmes in the last two years.

“On behalf of the new Exco, we are committed to take the party higher pedestal. We assure you of our commitment to lead the party to greater heights.

“I enjoin all party members to come stronger to take the party to the next level and consolidate on the Governor’s achievements,” Ojelabi said.

Gbolahan Yishawu, the lawmaker representing Eti-Osa 2 in the Lagos State House of Assembly,  said the outcome of the state congress is a demonstration of internal democracy.

Yishawu, also delegate, said: “As you can see here everything is peaceful, very orderly, and the rules and regulations of the party are done according to the constitution of the party and are being upheld by all democratic and pragmatic stakeholders of today. Internal democracy is working in the APC.

“Every election is a competition; there will be winners, there will be losers. The only thing now is that the winners should be gracious and be humble about their victory.”



Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here