Home News State By State Tribunal Dismisses Agbaje’s Petition Against Ambode’s Victory

Tribunal Dismisses Agbaje’s Petition Against Ambode’s Victory


The election tribunal sitting in Ikeja has dismissed the petition filed by Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, candidate, Jimi Agbaje, challenging the victory of Akinwunmi Ambode of the All Progressives Congress, APC at the Lagos gubernatorial poll.

Agbaje had petitioned the tribunal challenging the declaration of Ambode as the winner of the April 11, 2015 governorship election in the state.

Chief Wole Olanipekun had raised an objection that the petition lack competence

The three-man tribunal led by Justice Muhammad Sirajo Wednesday upheld the preliminary objection raised by Chief Wole Olanipekun.

Agbaje, who had congratulated Ambode on his victory, filed the petition at the tribunal on Thursday, April 30, 2015.

According to documents filed by the PDP candidate’s lawyers, the petitioners are contesting Ambode’s victory on three grounds:

1, INEC’s non-compliance with Section 7 of its own 2015 Election Guidelines which provides for the use of card readers in all polling units.

Agbaje is therefore seeking the cancellation of the results of all polling units where card readers were not used.

2, APC’s non-compliance with Section 85 of the Electoral Act 2010 (as amended) which stipulates that a party must give INEC 21-day notice of the convention where it intends to choose its governorship candidate.

APC’s letter notifying INEC of the convention where Ambode was elected was submitted on November 18, 2014 while he was chosen as the party’s candidate on December 4, 2014, 5 days shy of the official requirement.

3, Ambode’s allegedly conflicting claims of his state of origin. Agbaje is alleging that the APC candidate stated in his JAMB form (REG No: 646789) that he’s from Ilaje Local Government Area in Ondo State while in his governorship form, he claims, under oath, to be from Epe in Lagos State.

Ambode won the gubernatorial election in Lagos with 811,994 votes to defeat Agbaje who polled 659,788 votes.


Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here