Home Lagos House of Assembly this Week UPDATE: Lagos Assembly Rejects 3 Sanwo-Olu Commissioner Nominees

UPDATE: Lagos Assembly Rejects 3 Sanwo-Olu Commissioner Nominees


By Okunade Adekunle, Lagos

Members of the Lagos State House of Assembly have rejected three out of thirty-eight Commissioner and Special Adviser nominees submitted by Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu for confirmation.

Those rejected include Mr Ajayi Bembe, Mr George Obafemi and Prince Olanrewaju Sanusi.

The reason for their rejection was not disclosed by the House.

The legislators, however, confirmed former Editor of The Nation, Mr Gbenga Omotoso as a commissioner and the All Progressives Congress (APC) Publicity Secretary in the state, Joe Igbokwe.

The Assembly, at its plenary session confirmed 35 out of 38 nominees the governor presented for commissioners and special advisers after the final screening by the whole House and adopting the recommendation of the ad-hoc committee on screening as the resolution of the whole House.

However, while rejecting the three of the nominees, Speaker of the House, Mudashiru Obasa said Sanwo-Olu was free to represent them.

Meanwhile, the Chairman of the ad-hoc committee, Hon. Rotimi Abiru read the recommendation that the nominees be confirmed by the whole House according to section 192 (2) of the 1999 Constitution as amended.

Obasa cautioned the cabinet designate that the House would not hesitate to pass a vote-of-no- confidence on any member found wanting after they assumed office.

The nominees were called individually to appear before the whole House at plenary to introduce themselves fully.

The speaker, however, told the nominees that the House would not fail in its oversight function to ensure that each performed his responsibility to the people of Lagos, challenging the nominees to prioritise service to the people.

“Even after the confirmation, we will continue to monitor whatever offices you are assigned to ensure value for public fund. We will continue to oversight your activities. We will not hesitate to pass vote of no confidence any time anyone is found wanting,” he said.

The cabinet members who scaled the screening were: Mr Oladele Ajayi, Mr Oluwatoyin Fayinka, Hon (Mrs) Yetunde Arobieke, Arch. Kabiru Abdullahi and Mr Joe Igbokwe, Mr Bonu Solomon Saanu, Mrs Lola Akande, Prince Anofi Elegushi, Mrs Solape Hammond, Mr Moruf Akinderu-Fatai, Mr Segun Dawodu, Hon (Mrs) Uzamat Akinbile-Yusuf, Mr Sam Egube, Ms Ruth Bisola Olusanya, Princess Aderemi Adebowale, Mr Tunbosun Alake and Mr Afolabi Ayantayo, Mrs Shulamite Adebolu, Mr Tokunbo Wahab, Mr Rabiu Olowo Onaolapo, Mrs Folashade Adefisayo, Professor Akin Abayomi, Dr Idris Salako, Mr Tunji Bello, Mr Gbenga Omotoso, Hon. (Mrs) Toke Benson-Awoyinka and Mrs Bolaji Dada

Others included: Mr Lere Odusote, Dr Frederick Oladeinde, Mr Gbolahan Lawal, Dr Wale Ahmed, Mr Moyo Onigbanjo (SAN), Mr Hakeem Fahm, Mrs Ajibola Ponle and Engr Aramide Adeyoye.


Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here