Home News VP Sambo Leads Jonathan’s Transition Committee

VP Sambo Leads Jonathan’s Transition Committee


Vice President Namadi Sambo is leading the 16-member Transition Committee set up by President Goodluck Jonathan to work with the incoming All Progressives Congress government of General Muhammadu Buhari to ensure a smooth transition of power.

Buhari had defeated President Jonathan of the Peoples Democratic Party in the March 28 presidential election. But the new government will not take over until May 29.

Members of the committee include Minister of Finance and Co-ordinating Minister of the economy, Dr. Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala; Minister of State for Finance, as well as the ministers of Justice, Transport, Police Affairs, and the Niger Delta.

Others in the committee are Managing Director of the Assets Management Company of Nigeria, the Head of Service of the Federation, Executive Secretary of the Tertiary Education Trust Fund (TETFUND), as well as the Directors General of the Bureau of Public Enterprises (BPE), the Bureau of Public Procurement (BPP), National Agency for Food and Drug Administration and Control (NAFDAC), Nigeria Export Processing Zones Authority(NEPZA) and Nigerian Maritime Administration and Safety Agency (NIMASA).

The Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Senator Anyim Pius Anyim, will serve as secretary.


Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here