Lagos LG Polls: APC Chairmanship Candidate Wins in Oshodi/Isolo

By: Okunade Adekunle

The Chairmanship Candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Hon. Bolaji Ariyo, has emerged the winner of the Local Government Chairmanship election in Oshodi/Isolo Local Government in the just-concluded LG election in Lagos State.

Ariyo polled 8,429 to defeat his close contender from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Hon. Adeola Williams who polled 3,928.

The Lagos Independent Electoral Commission (LASIEC) Returning Officer for the area, Mr. Abari Ajibola declared Ariyo the winner of the election.

According to him, Ariyo scored 8,429 while the PDP candidate, Adeola Williams, scored 3,928 out of the total votes cast.


“By the virtue of the power conferred on me, I, Abari Ajibola, hereby certify that I was the local government Returning Officer for the election held on July 22, 2017 for Oshodi/Isolo Local Government. The election was contested and won. The candidate of APC, Hon. Bolaji Ariyo, received the total votes of 8,429 followed by Hon. Adeola Williams of the PDP who scored 3, 928 while the third on the list is Hon. Kazeem Aregbe of the LP who scored 896.

“That, Hon. Bolaji Ariyo of APC is hereby declared the winner of the Chairmanship election of Oshodi/Isolo Local Government,” said Ajibola.

Reacting to the declaration, Mr. Oloyinde Moruf, the Labour Party agent for the area. expressed satisfaction with the polls and congratulated the winner.

The APC agent, Mr Adewale Adelana, said the result reflected the decision of the people of Oshodi/Isolo on who they preferred to lead them.

The APC candidate defeated the candidates of the PDP and Labour Party in all the 7 wards.

The party agents of the APC and LP signed the result sheet after declaration, while the agent of the PDP was nowhere to be found.

However, the collation centre was peaceful as security men were on ground till collation of result ended.




Leave a Reply